Happening at the Center

Mortar Board Faculty Member of the Year 2018


Every year the MUW Alumni Association and the MUW Star and Scepter Chapter of Mortar Board conduct a campus-wide election to select MUW’s Faculty Member of the Year.  This Award, which is announced at graduation and includes a $1000 dollar check from the Alumni Association, is highly coveted.  It honors those faculty members who exhibit excellence in teaching, advising, and professional activities, in particular those who go beyond all expectations to support MUW’s students and academic programs.  Only full-time tenured/tenure-track MUW faculty members are eligible and must be nominated by AT LEAST one other full-time tenured/tenure track faculty member AND AT LEAST three currently enrolled full-time students.  Faculty who have received the award in the previous DECADE are not eligible, including Dr. Bryan Hilliard (2008), Dr. Bonnie Oppenheimer (2009), Dr. George Pinchuck (2010), Mr. Todd Bunnell (2011), Dr. Brian Anderson (2012), Ms. Janice Giallourakis (2013), Ms. Mary Jo Kirkpatrick (2014), Dr. Kim Whitehead (2015), Dr. Tammie McCoy (2016), and Dr. Erin Kempker (2017).  

Nominations are NOW OPEN and will close at five p.m. on Tuesday, April 3rd, to allow time for an online ballot to be prepared and for a run-off election, if necessary.  A copy of this form, with nominators’ original signatures (and student ID numbers, for student nominators), should be sent to Mortar Board Sponsor Bridget Smith Pieschel at

MUW Box number 1634, Painter Hall, campus
OR the form may be scanned and sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. by the deadline date
OR the form may be handed in person to Dr. Pieschel in her office 103 C in Painter Hall by five p.m. on the deadline date

Mortar Board Applications are Available NOW!

Mortar Board Logo2018 Mortar Board Applications are OPEN! CLICK to download the application and instructions. 

Mortar Board began as the first national organization to honor senior college women. Today, Mortar Board is an honor society that honors women and men and recognizes college seniors for excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, and service. Mortar Board members are the student leaders on their campuses. The Star and Scepter Chapter at MUW, founded in 1927, is one of the oldest chapters in the Southeast, and it is a distinct honor to be “tapped” to be a member.  Active MUW Mortar Board members proudly wear their gold cords during the Magnolia Chain ceremony on Graduation Day in May. Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Additionally, Mortar Board offers numerous benefits and opportunities to members, including career networking, fellowships and awards. Mortar Board 2017-18 president Karigan Bonner is pleased to announce that applications for spring are now available! 


Center for Women's Research & Public Policy

Dr. Bridget Pieschel

Orr Building Annex
Phone: (662) 241-6125
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.