Mississippi University for Women’s President Nora Miller was recently elected to the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) Board of Directors at the organization’s annual conference in Chicago.

Nora Miller
Nora Miller

Miller was among three other university presidents elected to the board: Houston Davis, president, University of Central Arkansas; DeRionne Pollard, president, Nevada State University; and Carlos Vargas, president, Southeast Missouri State University. Ronald S. Rochon, president of the University of Southern Indiana (USI) was announced as chair of AASCU Board of Directors.

Miller has served as university president since 2018, and has served on The W staff since 2001. Prior to being named president, she was the senior vice president for administration and chief financial officer.

Before joining The W, Miller served as director of budget and financial analysis and director of internal audit for the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning. She earned a master of business administration from Mississippi State University in 1998 and is a certified public accountant.

The American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) is a Washington, D.C.-based higher education association of 350 public colleges, universities and systems whose members share a learning- and teaching-centered culture, a historic commitment to underserved student populations, and a dedication to research and creativity that advances their regions’ economic progress and cultural development. These are institutions Delivering America’s Promise. 

About The W

Located in historic Columbus, Mississippi, The W was founded in 1884 as the first state-supported college for women in the United States. Today, the university is home to 2,227 students in more than 70 majors and concentrations and has educated men for 40 years. The university is nationally recognized for low student debt, diversity and social mobility which empowers students to BE BOLD.

Be Bold. Tower with Blue.