The Mississippi University for Women’s Athletics Department is now accepting nominations for its inaugural Hall of Fame induction ceremonies in the fall of 2023. Nominations must be submitted via the online form and received by November 30, 2022, for consideration.

The W Athletics Hall of Fame home page can be found at:

There are four categories in which to nominate. The categories and criteria are listed below:

Student-Athlete: Must have competed in a varsity sport at The W. Must have left The W in good standing. Eligible 7 years after the final season of competition. Should have graduated from The W (special circumstances will be considered by the Committee; i.e.- went into military service, signed to play professionally, etc.). Those considered should have attained a minimum of all-conference accolades – or the equivalent – during their career.
Team: This shall be for teams that, by their successes, brought distinction to The W. Teams nominated should have won a conference, regional or national championship (special circumstances will be considered by the Committee) or the equivalent. Teams are eligible 5 years after their season is completed.
Coach/Administrator: This recognition is for Coaches, Staff, and Faculty members who, by the achievements of their teams and/or efforts on behalf of Athletics, brought distinction to The W. Those selected shall have left the University in good standing if they are no longer employed by The W. There are no time restrictions on these nominations.
Distinguished Service: This award honors those who have, by their efforts in time, service, financial support, etc., greatly advanced the intercollegiate athletics program. Those elected do not directly have been affiliated with The W by enrollment or employment (i.e.- local business leaders, etc.). In addition to their contributions, those elected should represent the ideals and mission of The W. There are no time restrictions on these nominations. Once nominated, a person/team will remain in consideration for five (5) years. Anyone with questions may contact Dave Beyer, director of Athletic Communications, at

Nov. 16, 2022
Dave Beyer 

About The W

Located in historic Columbus, Mississippi, The W was founded in 1884 as the first state-supported college for women in the United States. Today, the university is home to 2,227 students in more than 70 majors and concentrations and has educated men for 40 years. The university is nationally recognized for low student debt, diversity and social mobility which empowers students to BE BOLD.

Be Bold. Tower with Blue.