The Mississippi University for Women Alumni Association has chosen a president-elect and elected five board members for 2023.

The newest class of board members are J’Markus DuBose (2014), Andrea Germany (2000), Clare Haefner (2003), Trey Harper (1998), Annie Oeth (1987) and Debra Sturgis-Stamps (1982). Jermarra “JJ” Jones-Price (2008) was selected as president-elect.

Jermarra “JJ” Jones-Price

Jones-Price of Southaven currently serves as special events and volunteer coordinator for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee. She is the current president of the Mid-South Chapter of the MUWAA and has chaired the Alumni Association’s Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee for the past two years. Jones-Price has co-chaired the Recruitment and Retention Committee and the Membership Recruitment Committee and served as MUWAA board secretary.

Having loved her time at The W as a student, Jones-Price wants to ensure progress to benefit current W students and alumni and promote different perspectives for future growth.

DuBose is a manager for Barnes & Noble. During his time at The W, DuBose was a member of Beta Kappa Tau Fraternity and Bench and Gavel, volunteered during Welcome Week and was a Rogue Cellmate and a Troubadour Social Club Big Brother.

J’Markus DuBose

DuBose served on the MUW Alumni Association Nominations Committee in 2020-2021. He hopes to increase alumni involvement by engaging younger W graduates during his time as a member of the MUWAA Board of Directors.

DuBose and wife Katelyn Ayers DuBose, class of 2016, live in Gulfport.

Germany of Collinsville is an instructor for Mississippi State University’s social work program in Meridian. She received her master’s degree in social work and completed her doctor of social work degree with a research focus on Critical Race Theory and equity in education.

Andrea Germany

During her years at The W, Germany was active in professional organizations and social clubs and was Class Cheerleader. As a member of the MUWAA Board of Directors, Germany will support the university’s mission and knows that The W needs the support of alumni to achieve its goals.

Germany was a panelist for the 2022 BLUE (Building Leadership Understanding and Education) event hosted by the Alumni Association.

She and her husband “Ab” have two sons.

Haefner of Round Rock, Texas, is director of publications for the Texas Classroom Teachers Association in Austin, Texas, handling communications and assisting in event planning and membership recruitment for the organization.

Clare Haefner

Earning a degree in journalism-mass communications from The W, Haefner worked at several newspapers in the southeast as a copy editor, page designer, website designer and reporter. An editor-in-chief of The Spectator, The W’s student newspaper, Haefner has won regional and national awards for writing and design.

Haefner serves on the MUWAA Digital Marketing Committee and is filling a vacancy on the MUWAA Board of Directors. She hopes to encourage out-of-state MUW alumni to stay connected and give back to the university.

Harper of Canton serves on the Extended and Appointive Cabinets of the Mississippi Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church and is director of the UMC’s Office of Spiritual Leaders.

Trey Harper

While a student at The W, Harper was active in many campus organizations. He is a member of the Jackson Metro Chapter of the MUWAA and has served the Alumni Association as a member of the Nominations Committee.

“The W made me the person I am today,” he said, “and I am always eager to find ways to give back to her.”

Harper and wife Heather Moody Harper, class of 1998, have four children.

Oeth of Ridgeland is a writer and editor for the University of Mississippi Medical Center and Children’s of Mississippi. After a journalism career that included serving as features editor of The Clarion-Ledger, Oeth moved into the public relations field.

Annie Oeth

Oeth, the mother of four children, serves the MUWAA as chair of the Public Relations Writing Committee and is active in her church.

Recipient of the Catherine Wilkerson Bryan Scholarship and other awards that enabled her to attend The W, Oeth wants to help today’s prospective students.

“I want to help raise awareness of The W and help current and future students get the education and leadership experience needed to launch careers,” she said. “The W is essential to driving the state’s economy and improves every community that its graduates call home.”

Sturgis-Stamps of Crystal Springs retired from the U.S. Postal Service after 32 years.

As a single mother, Sturgis-Stamps did not have the resources to pursue a college degree. She attended a local education fair and met an W coordinator who discussed a program that would allow her to attend college and receive housing and childcare for her son. She lived across the street from The W campus and participated in a work-study program to help with the cost of tuition.

Debra Sturgis-Stamps

Sturgis-Stamps was the first African-American woman from her district to serve on the Copiah County School Board. She also serves her community by volunteering in many civic and philanthropic organizations.

A mother of two and grandmother of four, Sturgis-Stamps wants to support The W as a member of the MUWAA Board of Directors. “I want to give back to the university because it has opened so many doors for me.”

The MUWAA exists to support and promote the mission of The W while providing alumni engagement opportunities. Any former student who has completed at least 12 semester hours at the university and who has made an annual contribution to the MUW Foundation is an active member eligible to vote and hold office for the year. For more information, visit the Mississippi University for Women Alumni Association website at

About The W

Located in historic Columbus, Mississippi, The W was founded in 1884 as the first state-supported college for women in the United States. Today, the university is home to 2,227 students in more than 70 majors and concentrations and has educated men for 40 years. The university is nationally recognized for low student debt, diversity and social mobility which empowers students to BE BOLD.

Be Bold. Tower with Blue.