The Department of Art and Design at Mississippi University for Women recently recognized students at the annual Juried Art Exhibition Awards ceremony.

Student Winners

“We are very proud of all of our students but especially the students who won awards.  All of the award winners are students who have worked really hard and dedicated themselves to improving as artists.  The four students who won the overall achievement awards, Aven Norwood, Michelle Russell, Mckenna Powell and Honor Brown, epitomize that effort and that success,” said Alex Stelioes-Wills, chair of the Department of Art and Design.

For the annual exhibition, 20 students entered a total of 196 pieces. Of those, 116 were chosen for display in the MUW Galleries. The exhibition was open to any student who took an art class at The W during the last three semesters and required for all art majors. Art and Design faculty members served as jurors.

Awards were given for each medium of art, for specific works of art that were ranked according to artistic excellence. The highlight of the ceremony, however, was the announcement of the Overall Achievement Awards. These awards are always voted upon by the department faculty, who consider not only the artwork on display but also the students’ performance in their classes.

First through third place winners received scholarship funds for the next academic year. Awards and scholarships were announced at the annual ceremony that was held Thursday, Feb. 15.

A total of 16 students placed in at least one category including: Izzy Poros (Columbus), Honor Brown (West Point), Cristian Aguiniga-Arroyo (Morton), Alyssa Beaty (Caledonia), Ella Bowen (Caledonia), Davianna Brent (Greenwood), Justin Hampton (Leland), Olivia Ivey (Memphis), Aven Norwood (Columbus), McKenna Powell (Amory), Michelle Russell (Jackson), Zee Walker (Crystal Springs), Erin Crabtree (Biloxi), Morgan Cumberland (Philadelphia), Clara Whitley (Columbus) and Sam Cox (Tupelo).


Overall Achievement Award

            1st– Aven Norwood

            2nd–  Michelle Russell (tie)

            2nd—McKenna Powell (tie)

            3rd– Honor Brown


            1st– Honor Brown

            2nd- Ella Bowen

            3rd– Honor Brown


            1st– Davianna Brent    

            2nd— Sam Cox   

Graphic Design

            1st– Cristian Aguiniga-Arroyo

            2nd– Cristian Aguiniga-Arroyo

            3rd– Aven Norwood

            Honorable Mention (HM)- Aven Norwood

            HM- McKenna Powell


            1st– McKenna Powell

            2nd– McKenna Powell

            HM- Ella Bowen

           HM- McKenna Powell

           HM- Morgan Cumberland


            1st– Alyssa Beaty

            2nd– Erin Crabtree

            3rd– Justin Hampton

            HM- Izzy Poros

            HM- Alyssa Beaty

            HM—Olivia Ivey

            HM—Michelle Russell

            HM—Erin Crabtree

Illustration/ Digital Imaging

            1st– Aven Norwood

            2nd– McKenna Powell

            HM- Honor Brown


            1st– Aven Norwood

            2nd– Michelle Russell

            3rd– Aven Norwood

            HM—Aven Norwood

            HM—Clara Whitley


            1st– Zee Walker

            2nd– Honor Brown

            3rd—Michelle Russell

            HM—Honor Brown

             HM—Davianna Brent

             HM – Michelle Russell

About The W

Located in historic Columbus, Mississippi, The W was founded in 1884 as the first state-supported college for women in the United States. Today, the university is home to 2,227 students in more than 70 majors and concentrations and has educated men for 40 years. The university is nationally recognized for low student debt, diversity and social mobility which empowers students to BE BOLD.

Be Bold. Tower with Blue.