Eudora Welty Writers' Symposium - Mississippi University for Women

35th Annual Eudora Welty Writers' Symposium

“With an Instrument Made of Air”
The Transformative Magic of Story

Inspired by Eudora Welty's story "Circe"

The Eudora Welty Writers' Symposium is held each October in honor of The W's most famous alumna. A diverse group of Southern writers and scholars are invited to present their work. A highlight of the symposium is the announcement of the Eudora Welty Prize for an unpublished book of scholarship.

All Symposium events will be held October 19-21, 2023 on the MUW campus and are free and open to the public. The Symposium will also be live-streamed on Facebook at our Welty Symposium Group.

The Welty Series is made possible through the generous support of the Robert M. Hearin Support Foundation.

Featured Authors, 2023

Friends of the Welty Series