Faculty Member of the Year Award

Every year the MUW Alumni Association and The W's Star and Scepter Chapter of Mortar Board conduct a campus-wide election to select The W’s Faculty Member of the Year. This Award, which is announced at graduation and includes a $1000 grant from the MUW Alumni Association, is highly coveted. It honors those faculty members who exhibit excellence in teaching, advising, and professional activities, in particular those who go beyond all expectations to support The W’s students and academic programs.

Prof. Chisholm receives award

Who's Eligible?

Only full-time MUW faculty members are eligible and must be nominated by one other full-time faculty member and three currently enrolled, full-time students. Faculty who have received the award in the previous decade are not eligible.

Recent Recipients

Dr. Janice Giallourakis (2013)

Prof. Mary Jo Kirkpatrick (2014)

Dr. Kim Whitehead (2015)

Dr. Tammie McCoy (2016)

Dr. Erin Kempker (2017)

Dr. Sheila Adams (2018)

Dr. Meagan Wood (2019)

Dr. Kelly Bennett (2020)

Dr. Donna Williams (2021)

Prof. Ashley Chisholm, Esq. (2022)

How Do I Submit a Nomination?

Nominations will be accepted through Friday, April 14, 2023 and may be submitted electronically or in person.

Electronic Submissions

Individual nominations may be made online via the Nominations for 2023 MUW Faculty Member of the Year form below. Alternatively, completed hardcopy forms may be scanned and sent as an email attachment to Dr. Chanley Rainey at cerainey@muw.edu. The email subject must read “Faculty Member of the Year Nomination.”

Hardcopy Submissions

A hardcopy of the form below, with nominators’ original signatures, may be submitted to Mortar Board Sponsor Chanley Rainey via campus mail (MUW Box #1634) or by slipping the form under her office door (Room #212c, Painter Hall).

Nomination Form

Fill out my online form.