When I reflect on the past two years as chairman of the MUW Foundation Board of Directors, it is clear to me that the spirit of philanthropy among The W’s alumni and friends is on the rise.

While our donors come from many different places, have a multitude of distinct talents and enjoy their own individual relationships with the institution, we all have chosen to make a difference together at The W with our financial contributions to the MUW Foundation.

Jayne Perkins-Brown, ’77, steps into the chairman’s role this summer, and I wish her and the board continued success in building on the momentum of the past several years. In addition, I would like to thank outgoing board members Jan Lewis Brandes, ’75; Roger Burlingame; Paul Cade; Lugene Spagnola Vincent, ’79; Betty Pope Waters, ’75; and Mary Elizabeth Phillips Williams, ’67, for their service.

As the important work of the MUW Foundation continues, please plan to attend our annual Welty Gala benefitting the MUW Scholarship Fund on October 20 at the Trotter Convention Center in downtown Columbus. Jeffrey Toobin, this year’s speaker, is an author, senior analyst at CNN, staff writer for The New Yorker and one of the country’s leading experts on politics, media and the law. It promises to be both an entertaining and informative evening for The W.

The MUW Foundation has worked throughout its history to help meet The W’s evolving needs. We will continue to seek support from alumni, friends, businesses, foundations and area leaders to find innovative ways to make a lasting impact on the lives of the students we serve. With this support, we are able to provide even greater opportunities for learning both inside and outside the classroom at The W.

I hope you will continue to join me as a donor to the MUW Foundation. It has been a privilege to serve with my fellow board members, and I look forward to being a part of many future successes with you all.


Ralph McLain
MUW Foundation Board of Directors