COLUMBUS, Miss.--Dr. Donna Williams, associate professor of nursing, was announced as Mississippi University for Women's Faculty Member of the Year at the university’s spring commencement ceremony.

The Faculty Member of the Year Award, which includes an award in the amount of $1,000, is an honor bestowed upon the faculty member who, above all, values quality teaching. The individual selected is a symbol of The W’s highly regarded faculty.

The W’s Star and Scepter Chapter of Mortar Board and the MUW Alumni Association, which provides the generous award, jointly recognize the Faculty Member of the Year. A faculty portrait will be placed with other awardees' photographs on the walls of Whitfield Hall.

Williams has worked within the university’s College of Nursing and Health Sciences in different roles since 2015 and has combined 46 years of nursing experience. Throughout her years of service, numerous abstracts and research were selected for national and international presentation.

"Dr. Donna Williams has a great passion for teaching. She is dedicated and engages students in their learning. She is patient, caring and has a kind personality. The communication between Dr. Williams and her students is strong and she is a great listener. The empathy and patience that she shows toward her students is greatly appreciated," said student nominator Conashya Headd.

Williams is a member of the Sigma Theta tau International Honor Society for Nurses, National League of Nursing, American Nurses Association and Mississippi Nurses Association.

“Dr. Donna Williams is one of the kindest, most compassionate faculty members that I know. She always goes the extra mile for her students and coworkers. Dr. Williams maintains the highest academic standards while being professional and caring. She takes time with each student and helps each one understand in order to be successful. She is certainly deserving of the honor of Faculty Member of the Year,” said Dr. Tammie McCoy, dean of the College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

Williams holds a doctor of nursing practice from Samford University, master of science in nursing from The University of Southern Mississippi and bachelor of science in nursing from Mississippi University for Women.

The award was announced at the university’s virtual commencement ceremony April 23.


April 23, 2021
Contact: Tyler Wheat
(662) 241-7683
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.