Recognizing the personal achievements of The Long Blue Line.


Greer Moore Mahaffey, ’61, of Corpus Christi, Texas, received the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution Women in the Arts Recognition Award on March 15, 2019.


Linda Ross Aldy,’73, executive director of the Mississippi Optometric Association has been recertified for the Certifi ed Association Executive (CAE®) designation by the American Society of Association Executives. The CAE is the highest professional credential in the association industry. She is one of only six executives in Mississippi currently credentialed. To be designated as a Certified Association Executive, an applicant must have a minimum of three years of experience with nonprofit organization management, complete a minimum of 100 hours of specialized professional development, pass a stringent examination in association management and pledge to uphold a code of ethics. Aldy first received the designation in 2011.

Jan Russell Miller,’79, of Columbus is the new director of the Columbus Arts Council.



Christie Jones Lawrence, ’81, of Starkville, MRHF, president of Surge Advisors, LLC, presented on “Staying Abreast of Quality Measures: MIPS, MACRA and the Like” April 2019 in Fort Worth, Texas, at the University of North Texas Health Sciences Primary Care Summit. Th e annual continuing education conference hosted by UNT Health Sciences, was attended by more than 100 physicians, physician assistants and
nurse practitioners working in primary care settings in Texas and surrounding states.

Trudy Fisher,’82, was elected as a fellow of the American College of Environmental Lawyers.

Nancy Ledbetter, ’82, of Castle Hayne, South Carolina, is pictured working with students at Mast STEM Academy, a summer camp in Shenzhen, China. This was her second summer teaching grades K-2 and 3-5.

Robbie Grizzell Hindman, ’85, of Fayette, Alabama, was named chief nursing officer of Princeton Baptist Medical Center in Birmingham, Alabama.

Ginger Brownlee Tucker, ’85, of Oxford, Alabama, was the recipient of Gadsden State Community College's Staff Excellence in Service Award.

Dr. Barbara Cibula Wheatley, ’85, of Broadway, Virginia, who is at Eastern Mennonite University, was named assistant professor of teacher education – literacy in the Department of Teacher Education.

Lana Green Burnett, ’87, of Tupelo received the Excellence in Education Award from North Mississippi Medical Center.

Marilyn Young Ford,’88, of Columbus is the new president of the Mississippi Faculty Association of Community and Junior Colleges.

Dr. Jan Reid-Bunch, ’88, is the new vice president of Dyersburg State Community College.

Pat Stutsy-Waldrep, ’88, of Oxford is general manager of America's Car-Mart of Oxford. Her dealership won Lot of the Year out of 144 dealerships nationwide, and she is the first woman to win this award since the company began in 1981.



Selena Nawrocki ’93, professor of interior design and art at Valdosta State University in Georgia, has artwork accepted in the following juried art exhibitions: Simple Pleasures: National Juried Exhibition, South Shore Art Center, Cohasset, Massachusetts; PaperWest: A National Works on Paper Juried Exhibition, Alvin Gittins Gallery, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, Utah; “Show Your Paper” National Juried Exhibition, Woman Made Gallery, Chicago, Illinois; and Redline’s 6th Annual Juried Exhibition, Redline Contemporary Art Center, Denver, Colorado.

Nancy Burton, ’98, of Reform, Alabama, was promoted to vice president, consumer banking at BankFirst.

Kristi McLeod Fondren, ’98, of Huntington, West Virginia, was promoted to professor of sociology and chair of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Marshall University. She completed her doctorate in sociology at Mississippi State University in 2009. She is the author of "Walking on the Wild Side: Long-Distance Hiking on the Appalachian Trail" (2016) with Rutgers University Press.

Amy Harris, ’98, of Nashville, Tennessee, received the E.W. “Wink” Midgett Distinguished Service Award from the Jones College of Business at Middle Tennessee State University in recognition of her contributions to the greater Nashville technology community. She recently completed her 11th year on the faculty in MTSU's Department of Information Systems and Analytics.

Callie Ross, ’99, of Macon was promoted to vice president, online banking, at BankFirst.



Elizabeth Yoste Whittington, ’00, of Southaven graduated with a master's in business administration from Christian Brothers University in Memphis. She was recognized as the Outstanding MBA graduate for class of 2019.

Eddie Dalton, ’01, of Tupelo received the Advanced Practice Excellence Award from North Mississippi Medical Center.

Leia Agnew Hill, ’01, of Lauderdale is now vice president for advancement and executive director of the Meridian Community College Foundation.

Dr. Alexa Chilcutt, ’02, of Northport, Alabama, co-author of “Engineered to Speak: Helping You Create and Deliver Engaging Technical Presentations.”

Phillip Cockrell, ’03, Maumee, Ohio, was the 2019 recipient of the Pan African Network’s Erica Holloman Award for Distinguished Service as well as the American College Personnel Association's Overall Coalition Advocate Award.

Amelia Parkes, ’04, was recognized as Teacher of the Year at Brandon Elementary School in Brandon.

Janelle Coleman Lawson, ’05, of Lawrenceville, Georgia, is the new success coach at Rainbow Village in Duluth, Georgia, helping families who are struggling to make ends meet or trying to get away from domestic violence situations.

Emily Edwards Williams, ’06, of Natchez is the new coordinator of the Natchez Literary and Cinema Celebration.

Chantel Holder McDill,’07, was recognized as Teacher of the Year at Brandon Elementary School in Brandon.

Victoria Holcomb Kivlan,’08, of Madison is the new audiologist at the Mississippi School for the Deaf. Dr. Kivlan also serves as an adjunct instructor at Louisiana Tech University and is a captain in the United States Army Reserve.



Adrian Cross, ’10, of Meridian, is the incoming executive director of the Meridian Freedom Project.

Jenni Mason, ’12, of Lilburn, Georgia, is the newly elected co-chair of the Anti-Violence Task Force of Forsyth County, Georgia.

Jessi Miller, ’13, of Smithville was honored with the RN Excellence Award from North Mississippi Medical Center.

Amanda Foster, ’16, of Baldwyn received the Nurse Manager Excellence Award from North Mississippi Medical Center.

Lisa Roper, ’17, of Plantersville received the Non-Traditional Nursing Excellence Award from North Mississippi Medical Center.

Natalie Tolar, ’17, of Purvis is a nurse practitioner at Hattiesburg Clinic Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine.

Chelsea Coker,’18, of Fulton was the recipient the Rookie Excellence in Nursing Award from North Mississippi Medical Center.

Robert Totten, III, ’18, of Memphis, Tennessee, is now a musician for the Navy.

James Barham, ’19, of Pontotoc, was presented the North Mississippi Medical Center's DAISY Award, recognizing extraordinary, compassionate and skillful care given by nurses.