COLUMBUS, Miss. -- Dr. Tammie McCoy, chair of Mississippi University for Women’s Bachelor of Science in Nursing program, and Gabriella Yray, a recent W graduate, will be recognized at the Higher Education Appreciation Day, Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) Tuesday, Feb. 21.

One student and faculty honoree are annually selected from each of the 34 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges to participate in the Appreciation Day activities.

McCoy was named Faculty Member of the Year during The W’s 2016’s spring commencement ceremonies. She was also the recipient of the Kossen Faculty Excellence Award in 2014. In 2013, McCoy, was named one of the top 20 medical and nursing professors in Mississippi by Online Schools Mississippi. She was honored as Mississippi Community Service Nurse of the Year for her statewide projects related to breast cancer awareness outreach and community literacy campaigns through the Nightingale Awards in Jackson. She also helps BSN students prepare for their own community service projects. McCoy has also been the recipient of The W Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award.

Yray graduated December 2016 with a degree in biological sciences. A member of The W’s Honors Program, Yray was praised for excelling in the classroom and her “remarkable consistency” as a student. She served as a tutor for five different classes, led exam review sessions and even a special final exam review in fall 2015. The Olive Branch native managed to accomplish all of this while progressing through the university’s Honor’s project, working in two science labs (including one at Mississippi State University), preparing for the MCAT, participating in an extensive Honors trip to Scotland and working at a chiropractic clinic during the summer and vacations. Yray, who plans to apply to medical schools this summer, is the daughter of Michael and Valerie Leathers.

HEADWAE was established by legislative resolution to honor individual academic achievement and the overall contribution of the state’s public and private institutions of higher learning.
The honorees will begin the day with a visit to the State Capitol where they will be welcomed by Gov. Phil Bryant, recognized by the Senate and House of Representatives and given a tour of the Capitol followed by the awards luncheon.

Feb. 21, 2017
Contact: Anika Mitchell Perkins
(662) 329-7124
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Dept. of Baccalaureate Nursing

Dr. Maria Scott

Martin Hall
Phone: (662) 329-7301

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.