COVID-19 Information: COVID-19 Info Page Coronavirus Self-Checker Student Contact (.pdf) Employee Contact (.pdf) Case Tracker

Face Masks: The W requires everyone, regardless of vaccination status, to wear a face covering inside all buildings.


COLUMBUS, Miss. - The Mississippi University for Women Office of Undergraduate Research (OUR) has announced the winners for the Undergraduate Research Conference (URC).

OUR hosted the second annual campus-wide URC March 26. The conference was 100% virtual this year. This yearly event showcased the on-going, in-progress and proposed work of undergraduates across campus.

“The OUR is so proud of each and everyone of the students and their accomplishments, hard work and dedication to research. We plan to be face-to-face for the next URC in 2022,” said Hillary Richardson, coordinator of Undergraduate Research and Information Literacy.

Victoria Choate and John McGee tied in an overall excellence in research award. Max Hartleroad won first place for best oral presentation. Zithlaly Amezquita and Justin Labonte won second place for best oral presentation. Cayla Skinner won first place for best poster presentation. Sara Lynn Sligh won first place for best proposal. Hannah Heaton won first place for best short-term work. Faith Langford won second place for best short-term work. Emma Gousset won first place for best long-term work. Recordings of each student’s presentation and their question and answer sessions have been recorded and added to the conference website:

Students who participate in the URC are eligible for a cash prize given to projects that demonstrate excellence in different categories of research. Students who have worked or are working on an in-depth research project or proposal should consider submitting to present their work in the 2022 URC. Benefits to presenting, according to the OUR website, include getting invaluable experience, strengthening academic community, building your resume and taking advantage of a chance for recognition.

Information about the URC, including past programs and resources for submitting a proposal, is available at

April 19, 2021