Illustration of Coronavirus COVID-19


COLUMBUS, Miss. -- Mississippi University for Women President Nora Miller has announced members of the Campus Renewal Task Force, which will develop a plan to safely and strategically reopen campus following the Covid-19 pandemic.

“We are all busy making plans for resuming activities together on campus. This task force will develop guidelines to be used in determining how and when we can safely resume operations,” said Miller. “We look forward to welcoming both new and returning students to campus for the fall semester.”

The Task Force will focus on summer operations immediately and then break into small working groups to plan for fall operations. The working groups will bring in a more, broad campus constituent group and focus on the following areas: Health and Safety, Communications and Events, Academic Continuity, Student Well-Being, Business Operations and Faculty/Staff Well-Being.

The Campus Renewal Task Force will be co-chaired by Carla Lowery, chief information officer, and Dr. Scott Tollison, provost and vice president for academic affairs.

Other W Task Force members include:

Dr. David Brooking
Student Success Center and Title III Project Director

Karen Clay
University Counsel

Mark Ellard
Vice President for Administration and Chief Financial Officer

Melinda Lowe
Director of Outreach & Innovation and Coordinator of Education

Anika Perkins
Executive Director of University Relations

Laura Quinn
Interim Director of Human Resources and Human Resources Generalist

Dr. Kim Whitehead
Ina E. Gordy Honors College Director and Associate Professor of English

Dr. Germain McConnell
The Mississippi School for Mathematics and Science Executive Director

Glenda Buckhalter Richardson
City of Columbus Community Outreach Coordinator

The first meeting of the Task Force is set for Friday, May 1, and will be held remotely in keeping with current Covid-19 social distancing guidelines.

April 30, 2020