Every year the MUW Alumni Association and the MUW Star and Scepter Chapter of Mortar Board conduct a campus-wide election to select MUW’s Faculty Member of the Year.

This Award, which is announced at graduation and includes a $1000 dollar check from the MUW Alumni Association, is highly coveted. It honors those faculty members who exhibit excellence in teaching, advising, and professional activities, in particular those who go beyond all expectations to support MUW’s students and academic programs.

Who's Eligible?

Only full-time tenured/tenure-track MUW faculty members are eligible and must be nominated by AT LEAST one other full-time tenured/tenure track faculty member AND AT LEAST three currently enrolled full-time students.

Faculty who have received the award in the previous DECADE are not eligible, including Mr. Todd Bunnell (2011), Dr. Brian Anderson (2012), Ms. Janice Giallourakis (2013), Ms. Mary Jo Kirkpatrick (2014), Dr. Kim Whitehead (2015), Ms. Tammie McCoy (2016), Dr. Erin Kempker (2017), Dr. Sheila Adams (2018), Dr. Meagan Wood (2019), and Dr. Kelly Bennett (2020).

How Do I Nominate Faculty?

Nominations are NOW OPEN and will close at 5 p.m. on Thursday, April 1st. 

Download and save the form below, which is fillable, then add your information and save the form again. Afterward, send it to those others who have agreed to nominate the faculty member so they may add their information. Email the completed form to Dr. Rainey, the Faculty Advisor for Mortar Board, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; carbon copy (cc:) each nominator whose name appears on the form using their MUW email address. Alternatively, the form may be printed, signed by each nominator, and delivered to Dr. Rainey’s office, Painter Hall 202.