• 1



Several scholarships are available to students majoring in Languages, Literature, and Philosophy, which are awarded each year to outstanding students in English, Languages, and Creative Writing. These are selected by the faculty of the department and are funded through the MUW Foundation by the generous gifts of alumni and friends of The W. They may include:

The Frances Anne Smith King Babbit Scholarship
The Louise Eskrigge Crump Scholarship
The Lucile Watkins Ellison Scholarship
The H. T. English Scholarship
The Harriet Rice Harned Scholarship
The Elise H. Moore English Award
The Marie Charlotte Stark Scholarship
The Martha Pope Trotter Scholarship
The Neill James Memorial Scholarship

At present there is no application process for the majority of these awards. However, for our newest scholarship in Creative Writing, available to incoming freshmen, transfer students, and current students, there is an application process that includes the submission of a writing sample (see the link below).

Neill James Memorial Scholarships in Creative Writing