Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)
SACSCOC Accreditation

National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)
NCATE Accreditation

Mississippi Department of Education (MDE)

Mississippi University for Women meets all Process and Performance Review Standards of the Mississippi State Department of Education.

Specialized Professional Associations (SPA)

The following programs at Mississippi University for Women have achieved National Recognition by their Specific Specialized Professional Association (SPA) under the aegis of the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE). NCATE has unified with the Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC) to become the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) in 2013. The status of National Recognition indicates that the program has substantially met the standards of their individual Specialized Professional Association and is a mark of distinction for the program. The program is listed on the NCATE web site as Nationally Recognized if the unit is already accredited. If the unit is not yet accredited, the program will be listed as Nationally Recognized pending unit accreditation.
Programs at MUW that are National Recognized by their SPA:


Specialized Professional Program

Biology (7-12)

National Science Teachers Association

Elementary Education (K-6)

Association for Childhood Education International

Educational Leadership (Masters)

Educational Leadership Constituent Council

English/Language Arts (7-12)

National Council of Teachers of English

Gifted Studies (Masters)

National Association for Gifted Children

Physical Education (K-12)

National Association for Sport and Physical Education

Reading Literacy (Masters)

International Reading Association

Social Studies (7-12)

National Council for the Social Studies