• 1


COLUMBUS, Miss. – Dr. Thomas Richardson, a respected administrator and beloved professor, was awarded a Medal of Excellence at Mississippi University for Women’s commencement Saturday, May 5 in Rent Auditorium, Whitfield Hall.

 Awarded since 1979, the Medal of Excellence is the university’s highest non-degree honor.

“Dr. Richardson has unselfishly stepped up to serve this university as a teacher and as an administrator. He is a first-rate scholar with an international reputation who has opened doors for undergraduate study abroad opportunities and secured international partnerships for The W. He is truly deserving of this honor,” said W President Jim Borsig.

The purpose of The W’s Medal of Excellence is to honor individuals who have exemplified the highest ideals of personal achievement in academic, personal and professional endeavors or through advocacy for the university.

Dr. Richardson, who has served as provost and vice president for academic affairs since 2016, is regarded as one of The W’s outstanding professors and has gained international recognition as a scholar. His distinguished career has influenced generations of students over the past 30 years.

In addition to holding the Eudora Welty Chair in the Humanities, he has been called upon to serve in various roles, including interim provost and vice president for academic affairs, vice president for academic affairs and dean of the College of Art and Sciences.

Richardson, who will step down as provost and vice president for academic affairs, effective June 30, 2018, will continue to be a presence on campus. He will turn his attention toward a long-term research project while on sabbatical next spring. 

Widely published in the field of Scottish literature, Richardson will serve as series editor for the Edinburgh Critical Edition of the works of John Lockhart to be published by Edinburgh University Press.

While focusing on this research, Richardson will remain a member of the faculty as professor of English and continue to hold the Eudora Welty Chair in the Humanities.