COLUMBUS, Miss.—Dr. Erin Kempker, chair of the Department of History, Political Science, and Geography, was named the 2017 Faculty Member of the Year at Mississippi University for Women.


The Faculty Member of the Year Award, which includes an award in the amount of $1,000, is an honor bestowed upon the faculty member who, above all, values quality teaching. The individual selected is a symbol of The W’s highly regarded faculty.

MUW’s Star and Scepter Chapter of Mortar Board and the MUW Alumni Association, which provides the generous award, jointly recognize the Faculty Member of the Year. A faculty portrait will be placed with other awardees' photographs on the walls of Whitfield Hall.

Kempker has served as an associate professor of history for the department since 2008. During her time at The W, Kemper has held the role of chair of the Academic Integrity Committee, president of the American Association of University Women and been a member of the Planning and Institutional Effectiveness Council.

In 2016, Kempker was chair of a working group and provided historical research for a committee composed of faculty, staff and students that commemorated the 50th anniversary of the desegregation of the university.

Along with her service to The W, Kempker serves as a board of trustee member for the Mississippi Historical Society and has been an evaluator for The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History’s Mississippi History Teacher of the Year Award.

The award was announced at the university’s spring comment ceremony held May 13.